The Lititz Record/The Lititz Express, Thursday, August 26, 1937

Schools Open Monday – The schools of Warwick township will open the 1937-38 Term on Monday morning, Aug. 30. There will be a half day session in all the schools the first day. The first Faculty Meeting will be held on the afternoon of the same day in the office of the Rothsville High School building. The children should all be back home by 12:30.

A pre-school meeting of all the teachers will be held Saturday morning at 9:30 o‟clock for pupil accounting, unifying courses and plans for instructions.

Patrons will note the following important changes in the School Code for 1937-38 term. The age limit for domestic permits either temporary or permanent is raised from 14 to 15 years. Absolute necessity must be proven to get these permits from the issuing office, Justice of the Peace Charles Hess. No beginners will be allowed to enter who will not reach the age of 6 years on or before February 1, 1938. A beginner once enrolled, becomes of compulsory school age, even though less that 8 years old, which was the old compulsory age limit. Children 16 years of age may remain out of school this Term but those 16 in 1938-39 will be of compulsory age and those 17 in 1938-40, and those 18 in 1940-41 Term.

All beginners will be required to bring a vaccination certificate and birth certificate. No child entering the Township schools will be allowed to enroll without these two certificates.

New teachers for the term are – Miss Mildred Schaffstall of Harriburg, H.S. English and Library at Rothsville High School, Miss Ruth Dissinger, of Lititz, Brunnerville Grades 4 & 5 and Miss Alta Zimmerman of Oregon, Millport Rural.

The Brunnerville Consolidated School Ground has been beautifully landscaped and seeded over the Summer, and an extensive grading and road building program is nearing completion at the Rothsville Consolidated School. New texts in health and spelling courses and additional supplementary reading materials have been furnished the entire Township.

The directors are – Abram Bomberger, Harry Burkholder, C.C. Kafroth, Solomon Strohm and Isaac Erb.


Table of Contents